Passed variable is not an array or object, using empty array instead

Grantland Rice III of Birmingham Re-Elected to Serve a One Year Term as President

18 Mar 2018 AGA Staff


On Saturday, March 3, 2018, the Alabama Golf Association’s Annual Membership Meeting, Board of Directors meeting and Awards Luncheon was hosted by The Country Club of Birmingham in Birmingham.   


A re-nominated slate of officers and two changes to the board of directors was elected at the Alabama Golf Association Annual Membership meeting. The officers that will serve for an additional one year term are: President Grantland Rice III of Birmingham; Vice President Carol Lell of Birmingham; Secretary Steven Hudson of Birmingham; and Treasurer Derrel Curry of Birmingham.

Re-elected Alabama Golf Association Board of Directors members are: Alan Allgood of Fairhope; Jan Berry of Madison; Flip Bradley of Huntsville; Derrel Curry of Birmingham; Austin Davis of Birmingham; Patrick Drummond of Birmingham; Joey Dzwonkowski of Mobile; Freeman Fite of Anniston; Nancy Gavin of Jacksons Gap; Walker Grant of Montgomery; Kathy Hartwiger of Birmingham; Brinson Holder of Point Clear; Joey Holley of Troy; Hoyt Howell, Jr. of Anniston; Steven Hudson of Birmingham; Travis Hudson II of Jasper; Sharon Kellum of Leeds; Lucie King of Tuscaloosa; Larry Kniseley of Daphne; Carol Lell of Birmingham; William Lewis of Tuscaloosa; Marvin Lynn Lowe of Gadsden; Chris Marr of Mobile; William McGowin of Montgomery; John Miller IV of Birmingham; David Pearce of Selma; Grantland Rice III of Birmingham; Stan Sherlin of Montgomery; Will Swift of Birmingham; Jim Teel of Auburn; Sam Vann of Dothan; Phillip Weaver of Tuscaloosa; Cody Wesley of Greenville; Susan West of Tuscaloosa. Joining the Board of Directors as a new member is Forrest Crabtree of Mobile.

AGA Past President, George Walker of Mobile, retired from the Board of Directors and was unanimously voted as a Director Emeritus.

At the Board of Directors meeting, three members were re-elected to serve an additional one year term on the AGA Executive Committee along with the four officers: Walker Grant of Montgomery; Joey Dzwonkowski of Mobile and immediate Past President Cody Wesley of Greenville.


Annual Awards Luncheon

The Alabama Golf Association recognized its 2017 champions and Players of the Year at an awards luncheon that followed the annual meeting.


About the Alabama Golf Association (AGA)

The Alabama Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit educational organization founded in 1915 whose mission is to serve and promote amateur golf in Alabama. AGA membership consists of over 130 member clubs represented by nearly 18,500 individuals. The activities and services of the Alabama Golf Association are governed by a Board of Directors consisting of Alabama golfers who wish to serve the game and the association through service.

AGA is the USGA's liaison for golf in Alabama conducting national championship qualifying, administering the USGA Handicap system including the GHIN Handicap service, course & slope rating and education. The AGA annually conducts 13 championships and team match competitions for men, women, juniors, and seniors. The AGA also conducts Alabama high school golf championships and assists with many collegiate events including the SEC Men's Golf Championship. In addition to competitions, the AGA administers the AGA Women's Scholarship Fund that is dedicated to assisting young female golfers in higher education and supports the Alabama Turfgrass Research Foundation.

Since 1980, the AGA has managed the affairs of the Southern Golf Association which includes conducting the Southern Amateur Championship and Southern Junior Championship, in conjunction with the Board of Directors of the Southern Golf Association.


For more information about the Alabama Golf Association, visit www.alabamagolf.org.

Rate this item
(0 votes)

Lake Tuscaloosa Living (LTL) is the premier community newspaper, covering the great people, places and activities of the area.


Most Popular

Instagram Gallery